Skip to navigation Skip to content
Deakin sign

26 February 2024

Congratulations to Deakin’s 2023 AAUT winners

Deakin University staff have been honoured at the 2023 Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT), with two projects receiving Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning.

Established in 1997 by the Australian Government, the awards celebrate excellence in higher education and recognise learning and teaching programs that have a positive impact on the student experience.

‘The quality of teaching at Deakin is extremely well regarded and is a fundamental part our identity as a university. Our AAUT awardees represent the highest levels of achievement in learning and teaching and are the standard-bearers for our commitment to excellence in education. Our focus has always been on the outcomes our students achieve, which aligns strongly with the Deakin mission.’
Professor Iain Martin
Vice-Chancellor, Deakin University


Virtual Simulation in Optometry

Ms Amanda Edgar, Professor James Armitage, Dr Ryan Wood-Bradley, Ms Nadeeka Arambeweka-Colley, Associate Professor Susie Macfarlane and Elissa (Jane) Kiddell received a Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning for their leadership and excellence in education in the optometry field, through an innovative virtual practice simulation. This program promotes evidence-based practice and clinical reasoning through immersive learning.

Winners of AAUT award - virtual optometry

Deakin’s Learning and Automation in Accounting team

Dr Peter Vuong, Dr Egor Evdokimov and Dr Lawrence Huang received a Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning for revolutionising foundational accounting education at Deakin. The team developed individualised assessment and feedback automation that significantly enhanced student engagement and academic performance.

Learn more about the AAUT

You can find a full list of 2023 AAUT winners through the AAUT website.

Congratulations to our Deakin teaching teams on this well-deserved national recognition of their creativity and commitment to student learning. Recognition of excellence is critically to raise the profile of good practice like this and also to inspire colleagues.
Alfred Deakin Professor Liz Johnson
Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic, Deakin University

back to top